Words Words Words

Archive for September 25th, 2008

1.

Students are wonderful: together they created a rather nice atmosphere in class. I am sure they will find that they learn a lot from each other.

 

2.

Because I use only English in class, I think, at times, it is challenging for me to explain certain ideas clearly and for students to immediately understand them. Challenging though it may be, I hope we can keep trying.

 

3.

I really emphasise that students act as active learners in my class, particularly because they are all graduate students. I assume they are all highly motivated and willing to study the fundamentals of writing again.

For active learners, learning does not stop at the end of the class. Today I introduced a way to apply what they learn from Chapter 10 to their self-study (academic word list 1, to be exact). To remember what a complex sentence means in grammar may not be useful for my students, but being able to detect a complex sentence in one’s own reading shows a good understanding of the concept being taught through the chapter and today’s lesson.


September 2008
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Pages